Buy this book at
To Past Reviews Index
Back to Last Page

The Lost Barkscrolls

Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell

Average Review Rating Average Rating 7/10 (1 Review)
Book Details

Publisher : Doubleday

Published : 2007

Copyright : Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell 2007

ISBN-10 : HB 0-38561-168-4
ISBN-13 : HB 978-0-38561-168-8

Publisher's Write-Up

This is a fantastic new adventure in the world of the Edge Chronicles.

These exciting new tales are ideal for those new to the Edge, or as an addition to the collection of any fan. They feature tales from each of the Edge Trilogies: one from the time of Twig, hero of Beyond the Deepwoods, one from the time of Quint, Twig's father and hero of Clash of the Sky Galleons and one from the time of Rook, Twig's grandson.

The tales star well known characters from the Edgeworld and also provide a tantalising glimpse into the book that will follow in 2008, the last Edge novel ever. It also includes the stories Cloud Wolf and The Stone Pilot.

These World Book Day tales are real favourites with fans and are asked for repeatedly since they have been unavailable. It includes a beautiful fold-out timeline of the Edgeworld, linking all three trilogies together.

Column Ends


Reader Reviews

Why not Submit a Review your own Review for this book?

Review by Jessica (070108) Rating (7/10)

Review by Jessica
Rating 7/10
From authors Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell comes The Lost Barkscrolls, a children’s novel based on the author’s other books , The Edge Chronicles.

I like to think that after having read some of the other books in this series, The Lost Barkscrolls is the one book that ties up all those loose ends the other books didn’t. For example: what happened to The Stone Pilot and what about their past? How did The Stone Pilot become homeless and acquire the mysterious cloak and mask that covers their identity? Well, if you read the story included in this book, the answers lies there. We also read about young sky pirate Quint and his first battle in the sky, his extraordinary encounters and his bravery.

The Slaughterers Quest is another brilliant story included in this book, Twig’s young daughter Keris is determined to find her father who she hasn’t seen in ten years. How could he abandon her like that, as a young child? Keris sets out on a quest to find the answers but will they be the ones she wants?

Finally we have The Blooding of Rufus Filatine, this is a story about the monster that lives on The Edge.

I felt very disappointed with the last story. I just didn’t see why it was necessary to build up a tale around a monster living on The Edge as almost all of the other stories are linked up with the other Trilogies and much-loved characters. Perhaps I missed something? It didn’t draw me in either as so many of the others have. A shame as this collection is quite good.
Pictures are also included but the authors sadly haven’t put as many in as they did in some of the other books. On having said that, however, there is a truly excellent sketch of a Woodwolf. Amazing, vivid and real it almost jumps out at you from the page.

Overall this is a good book from The Edge Chronicles, but just not as good as some of the authors’ others.
Jessica (7th January 2008)

Back to Top of Page
Column Ends